Sun Kil Moon - Ghosts of the Great Highway

Sun Kil Moon - Ghosts of the Great Highway

Sun Kil Moon - Ghosts of the Great Highway

€25.99 was

Release Date 16th February 2018

The debut album from Sun Kil Moon, originally released in 2003 and long since out of print is being reissued on double vinyl. 

An album as good as Ghosts of the Great Highway should never go out of print. Ghosts continues-- even fine-tunes-- the work Kozelek did with his former band, Red House Painters. These songs are virtuously stoic Americana-- all shimmery guitars, measured tempos, malevolent moods, and wandering melodies. His voice sounds like Neil Young’s, especially in the effortlessness with which he hits the high notes then returns to a lower, earthier texture. Ghosts is a travelogue of sorts, speeding through the Midwest and the West; in this sense, it’s the male equivalent to Lucinda Williams’ Car Wheels on a Gravel Road, especially in the imperfect mirroring of physical terrain and emotional geography. The band Kozelek assembled for Ghosts-- Anthony Koutsos (Red House Painters), Tim Mooney (American Music Club), and Geoff Stanfield (Black Lab), along with a few guests-- ably but subtly bolster his lyrics and vocals, generating a steady clip that never flags. The result is an album as hypnotic as highway divider lines whizzing past. Includes original bonus track “Gentle Moon (Acoustic).” 

A1. Glenn Tipton
A2. Carry Me Ohio
A3. Salvador Sanchez

B1. Last Tide
B2. Floating
B3. Gentle Moon
B4. Lily And Parrots

C1. Duk Koo Kim

D1. Sí, Paloma
D2. Pancho Villa
D3. Gentle Moon (Acoustic)