Ye Vagabonds - Nine Waves

Ye Vagabonds - Nine Waves

€26.00 was


Release date: 13th May 2022

Ye Vagabonds release their second album for Rough Trade’s River Lea label on May 13th.
Nine Waves was recorded in the Dublin Mountains at Hellfire Studios, produced by John ‘Spud’ Murphy (whose previous work includes records by black midi, Lankum and caroline). The album features 11 tracks of both traditional and original songs and tunes.
Nine Waves follows the duo’s standalone single I’m A Rover, which won them an RTE Radio One Folk Award for Best Traditional Folk Track. Ye Vagabonds were also named Best Folk Group for the second time at the 2021 ceremony, where they hold the record for most awarded artists.
The brotherly harmonies and multi-instrumental abilities of Diarmuid and Brían Mac Gloinn were joined on Nine Waves by Kate Ellis (cello) and Caimin Gilmore (double bass), both members of the Irish contemporary classical group Crash Ensemble, and Ryan Hargadon (Anna Mieke, Rachael Lavelle, Kojaque) on piano and saxophone. The record also features concertina from Cormac Begley and harmonium from regular touring member of Ye Vagabonds, Alain McFadden.

Ye Vagabonds will be touring throughout Europe, the UK and the US in 2022. Tickets are available from

An Island
Lord Gregory
Blue is the Eye
The Humours of Glin
Go Away and Come Back Hither
Her Mantle So Green
The Munster Jig/Tell Her I Am
Máire Bhán